top of page

Book Feature: Elizabeth Rachel ‘The Ginger Experiment’


BOOK REVIEW


“Poetry can be a polarizing art, even so within the community it breeds.”


The Ginger Experiment, is a collection of poetry and other anecdotes by Elizabeth Rachel.


The Ginger Experiment, is a bright and blunt work to unmask and talk about the unmentioned. Interwoven with anecdotes from experiences as a child in an Ex-Soviet diaspora of Brooklyn, The Ginger Experiment packs a spicy punch, relaying personal stories and verse about cultural identity, coming to terms with resentments and coming of age. Simultaneously, it unpacks the darker, more difficult realities of socio-economic inequality, sexism and the unforgiving world with a glimmer of hope that it gets better. "It's like a big bite of ginger, spicy at first, but healing in the end. It's worth the experiment."


The first chapter ‘Unpeeled on the Counter’ contains intense moments, writing about stories that are uncomfortable with gob smacking storytelling penned with excellence. The book brings light to the darker bits looming around while unveiling her thoughts on important issues, hopefully inciting thought and joy in the anecdotes and stories spread throughout. A stand-out moment was in ‘Shadow Lover’ when she pens, “I want to tell you of each time I cried, but you’re no fan of tears.” With an elegance and awareness in her writing it’s clear each word was chosen with meaning rather than for the sake of filling a page. Including beautiful and thought-provoking pictures it accompanies the bright and blunt writing that is a refreshing read.


‘Before the First Bite’ has pieces like an ode to writers block where she ponders whether to let the rhyme move her or should her words fly outward being deaf to poetry concluding the words stay stuck inside. ‘Hand Me Down’ was an emotional read that discusses being the older child never receiving a sack of old clothes compared to the non-physical hand me down in the shape of a question mark weighing heavier as resentment claws, confusion brews, noticing it’s she who is handed down the foundation in which she tries to balance as it#s the only way she knows how to stand becoming a magnificent storyteller.


‘The Spicy Bite that Ruined Everything’ has blunt and sharp writing progressing the book along further with passion.


Closing out the book and tying up loose ends, ‘Palate Cleansed; Healing Commenced’ packing up spicy punch, relaying personal stories and verse about cultural identity, coming to terms with resentments and coming of age.


The Ginger Experiment, is full of storyful anecdotes and powerful poetry, it’s an endearing book exposing thoughts to the page with absolute brilliance making it an incredible debut book full of effortless stand out pieces; a truly wonderful book of art.


Elizabeth Rachel is a 23 year-old published poet from Brooklyn, New York, currently based in Vienna, Austria. She currently works in PR and Communications, getting to know the business side of writing and and content creation.


Words by Danielle Holian

INTERVIEW


Tell us a bit about your writing background.


I have been writing since I can remember. Not always well, but I loved writing stories about my life or making up stories about people with lives similar to mine. I tried writing an autobiography like 5 times before turning 13 haha, so I clearly loved to blab. I got into it a bit more seriously in high school when an essay of mine got a good grade and my teacher said it was good, so I started to write fanfiction and post it online to an audience. I haven't really stopped writing since.


What, or who, inspired you to start writing?


Mostly my mom, actually. She said to me once as a kid that she could imagine me being a writer

one day and the thought stuck.


And what influenced your debut poetry and prose book ‘The Ginger Experiment'?


My influences can be easily read out in the book. I have always wanted to create something others could read and enjoy. I loved writing for myself, but the ultimate rush was creating something that was my story for others to join in. Whether it was a novel, online fiction or a poetry book. I started my poetry account, @poetry.by.liza actually right after getting sacked during the pandemic. I needed something to take my mind off of the stress and have a creative outlet. After I collected all the poetry, I realized I had a decent foundation for a book!


How has your life in general influenced your work in general?


In a lot of intense ways. I do not ever find myself writing "positive" poetry or prose. Everything is a bit sneaky, snarky or has a bite, because I write to unleash the harder feelings, not the easy ones.


And how do you find the balance between writing about your own personal experiences and exploring topics that may not necessarily be autobiographical, but still speak to many people?


I admit, this is a challenge. As mentioned before, my debut in writing was always very me-centered: So even when I created new characters, I found myself slipping into them becoming another version of who I am and what I believe. But I have learned to also step away sometimes and write more generally. However, I do believe in the old saying "write what you know." I think writing what you know is always the way to go.


What makes a piece of your writing right to post on your Instagram, versus the ones that stay in the book?


Honestly, I post whatever. I don't curate too hard because I want it to feel authentic. Sometimes there will be a typo or an inconsistent size here or there, but my Instagram page is for me to share what I write and what I think. For my book, I really had to work to make sure things were consistent and enjoyable, since people were paying for the experience. In this case, I asked others what they thought and tried to also be more objective.


And finally, what advice would you give to aspiring writers?


Know how to differentiate criticism and fluff; and keep writing, a lot! There is a huge difference between someone who knows their shit giving you helpful pointers, those are VITAL! But this differs entirely from someone who has barely ever read a poem or a book telling you something you wrote is "bad" or "doesn't make sense." Learn to know the difference and ignore noise. And keep keep keep writing.


Grab your copy of The Ginger Experiment, here.

8 views0 comments
bottom of page