top of page
  • Writer's pictureDanielle Holian

Book Feature: Kacy Marie ‘Blooming from Dry Bones’


BOOK REVIEW


After all this pain has left my body, will I remember how to breathe?”


Blooming from Dry Bones, is an emotive read told in poetry form sectioned into three chapters written by Kacy Marie.


Rising from all that was set out to try and break her, the poetry collection is raw and relatable with bravery penned through each piece to explore these stories that are utterly heartfelt. With expressful tones throughout the book, it’s an empowering read showing strength and courage to search for purpose to keep going and find victory in all that endured blooming from the ashes they tried to burn her in.


As the book progresses, there’s a searching mood present and as things unfold it’s clear she’s longing for meaning and her worth, all while acknowledging lessons turned into blessings. Eventually, she sees her worth and everything she has lost in life itself.


Filled with poetry and quotes that came through a difficult period and allowed her to discover healing through words, it’s truly a breathtaking read from beginning to end. Touching on topics of unhealthy and toxic relationships, breakthroughs to failures, Blooming from Dry Bones, discusses the stages of how healing can sometimes be a struggle, for one to guard their heart, and finding beauty in discovering a new perspective. Overall, it’s a thought provoking piece of art that should be devoured by those searching for answers to feel less alone.


Kacy Marie was born and raised in Virginia. She has a love for writing that began with fairies and dragons and blossomed into receiving an English degree from Roanoke College. She uses poetry as an outlet to heal. She hopes her writing reaches others who suffer from anxiety and depression while struggling to love themselves as a whole with her new poetry book, Blooming from Dry Bones.


Words by Danielle Holian

INTERVIEW


Tell us a bit about your writing background.


On a personal level, I have always loved writing since I learned what it fully meant in

middle school. I would always come home and write about dragons and fairies, and then

have my grandpa edit it. Professionally or academically, I did not take it seriously until

college when I decided to major in Literary Studies and explore fiction and poetry.


What, or who, influenced you to start writing?


Writing was influenced by my need to vocalize how I felt in the moment. When I was a kid, I didn’t have an individual I could confide in with my emotions and dreams circulating in my brain, so that is where pen and paper came into play.


And what influenced your poetry book ‘Blooming from Dry Bones'?


My poetry book stemmed from the beginning of the pandemic. Months prior I had just ended a long-term relationship by calling off my wedding and then being let go from my job days before the world shut down. My mental health was at an all-time low, and I found myself writing at odd times of the day just getting any words that came out of my head on paper. This book was a release of pain.


How has your life in general influenced your work in general?


Greatly. All of my writings came from a dream, a conversation, or a daydream I had on the way to work. I would think something up and open my notes app immediately.


How do you find the balance between writing about your own personal experiences and exploring topics that may not necessarily be autobiographical, but still speak to many people?


At first it was a struggle. I looked at my life too much and tried to force words that weren’t there to be shared or did not feel authentic. What helped me the most was changing locations and being inspired by the people or animals around me. I always try to tie my work back to mental health though, because I know how hard it can be to struggle with a global term such as ‘anxiety’ yet feel so alone.


What makes a piece of your writing right to post on your Instagram, versus the ones that stay in the book?


I always try to pick a piece that I know was the most healing for me to write than the ones that came in a fleeting moment. Every piece I pick, I just hope someone resonates with it as much as I did writing it.


And finally, what advice would you give to aspiring writers?


Just write. The hardest thing for me is believing my work is worth being printed or seen. You hope that one piece of work reaches hundreds and if it only gets five likes you feel defeated. I can’t say that feeling goes away but remember how you felt the moment you wrote it and if you love the piece then that is all that matters! If it only reaches five people, that is five people who are related to your work. Keep your writing free and not forced.

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page