top of page
  • Writer's pictureDanielle Holian

Book Feature: Kelsey Ann Occhipinti ‘All The Things I Didn’t Say'


BOOK REVIEW


“It’s easy for me to lose myself, while trying to save you.”


All the Things I Didn’t Say, tells a story about falling in love for the first time documenting the roller coaster of emotions of love and heartbreak through poetry form written by Kelsey Ann Occhipinti.


From the opening page it’s clear to see the writing is passionate with resonating stories on each page of romantic and heartbreaking poetry, with parts that bring the entire book to life from the loving moment to dwelling times.


She writes in a raw manner bearing her truths and thoughts in a vulnerable way that will connect to the reader. With many anxious tones present, it’s hard not to get lost down the rabbit hole of tragedy when she reveals her fears, false hope, insecurities, self-doubt, and yearning for something that she wants to happen but the uncertainty almost suffocates her.


There’s many reflections throughout the book showcasing a growth in her state of mind; with all the challenges of being together to the struggles of being apart, her voice is present. There’s great insight revealing intimate situation details in a delicate way that portrays the innocence of caring for someone yet letting the exposing art cleanse her.


It’s easy to connect with her words and relate in parts while knowing sometimes love is worth fighting for throughout All the Things I Didn't Say.


Words by Danielle Holian


INTERVIEW


Tell us a bit about your writing background.


I have been writing since I was 4 years old. I have written songs, poetry, just about anything you can think of. I started writing as a coping mechanism to release the intense emotions I was dealing with growing up. I struggled with mental health issues including eating disorders, anxiety, depression and suicide. Writing became a safe place for me to vent and be able to be who I am without judgement. Writing saved my life.


What, or who, inspired you to start writing?


Like I said, I started writing at the age of 4 in order to deal with the emotions I was going through. My parents were going through a divorce, I developed several mental health issues and discovered my sexuality over the course of my adolescence. Although I was writing my thoughts and feelings onto paper, it wasn't until I met Ms. Powell, my 8th grade English teacher. We had to write a poem for a class assignment and I half fast, put together a poem about love. She read my poem and told me there was, "no emotion behind my words" and she wanted me to, "go home, think about something that has truly changed and affected me and just write". I went home that night, opened my notebook, thought about what I had been going through and the words started flooding out of me. I successfully wrote my first poem and still my favorite to this day. She pushed me to look inside myself and use the pain and hurt I was feeling to become the honest and vulnerable writer I am today.


And what influenced your poetry book, All the Things I Didn't Say?


I fell in love for the first time. I was in my first "relationship" with a woman or really anyone up until this point. We had been on and off for almost two years and there were so many emotions I was dealing with at the time. I did what I normally do and wrote about it. I decided in order to move forward and let her go, I needed to release the book and almost release myself from the love we once had. It was a way of letting go and moving on.


How has your life in general influenced your work in general?


Everything I am can be reflected in my writings. I write about everything I deal with, with honesty and vulnerability attached. My shortcomings in life have been my inspiration to write. I write my truth and that isn't always happy or positive but I write hoping to inspire others to be themselves and to hopefully find a piece of themselves in my writings and bringing them some type of comfort to know they are not alone. I wish I had someone like me around when I was dealing with my issues to allow me to feel what I was going through and know I would be okay. To let me know I didn't have to push my emotions down or be someone I am not. To let me know I could be exactly who I am and know that was good enough, I was good enough.


And with this particular book you wrote about a relationship - was it therapeutic to almost release all the built-up emotions in poetry form?


It was very therapeutic for me. This was my first poetry book and I never intended to release or make a book about this person. I had written these poems for myself to reflect and go through the motions of what I was going through. I of course changed names and personal information out of respect and privacy but I wrote from my heart. I remember I received a review on Amazon about how the book, "didn't follow much of a chronological order" but I actually wrote the poems in order from how the events happened. If you read the book, you will see it is up and down every couple of pages and that is the type of relationship we had. It is very honest and what I was truly going through and thinking. I don't know how else to write.


Are you working on any new writing projects?


I currently have a blog (kelseyannocchipinti.com) I use to give advice and talk about issues within mental health, sexuality and life in general. I am also working on writing another poetry book about mental health. I am very passionate about the field and if I can help people by simply sharing a piece of my story, I will continue to do so. Lastly, I am writing a three book series about three different stages of love experienced in life. I am hoping to carry on the characters throughout the books and develop a storyline that will begin the normalization of LGBTQIA+ community books.


And finally, what advice would you give to aspiring writers?


Write from your heart and with honesty and vulnerability. In order for others to relate to us, we have to be willing to speak our truths and the experiences we have gone through, good or bad. Write because you love it and love what you write about. So many people will criticize the things you have to say and make you feel insignificant, don't let them. Be you and express yourself whatever way makes you feel free and safe all at the same time.

84 views0 comments
bottom of page