top of page
  • Writer's pictureDanielle Holian

Book Feature: Liv McCaughey ‘The Southside of Doubt’


BOOK REVIEW


“I can cry a lullaby in an instant”


Liv McCaughey found her voice when writing her debut poetry collection, The Southside of Doubt. The powerful poems over the four chapters carry the weight of interesting themes throughout the book that offer insight to her journey with beliefs, desires, and inner worries.


The first poem is intriguing, setting the reader up for what’s to come, McCaughey writes, “The Southside of Doubt / The city made from broken bones / Knowing all they know,” which in-turn will make the reader immediately interested to get into the book.


With sharp storytelling and great titles, McCaughey includes an extraordinary poem on self-love on ‘Where the Read Gods are the Waiting Times are Short and the Appointments Consistent’ she details she’s learning to trust herself. And with this bold statement, it’s an important piece of work to the book. And from not knowing where or who she is, to things fiercely festering there’s a sense she’s finding her way.


The second chapter is more in-depth and inviting with the first poem titled ‘Trauma Response’ which is an important addition to a book of this sort. It showcases the ugliness we all face at one time, or another. And in the end, she writes, “I’m not speechless,” in a standing manner that is truly heartfelt and inspiring to read.


As the book progresses, it’s clear to see the themes of growing up, mental health, and morality play a big part of the storytelling. It’s a haunting read with a lot of pleasure as it isn’t the traditional instapoet or classic poetic style; McCaughey drew inspiration from many places, in-turn creating a masterpiece.


Revealing a new age in art truly standing apart from classic and modern like insta poetry, McCaughey writes a letter ‘to whoever does not love me’ which is an empowering read that breaks away from the books itself, yet brings it more together.


As the book comes to a close, McCaughey realises her tears are forming growth. She writes, “creativity fades forged fact fills,” leaving room for interpretation for the reader. And it’s an empowering ending piecing the last bit of this story together, all while engaging the writer from the start. It’s an impressive debut with strength in her writing and power in her voice. She beautifully detailed a journey of hardships and finding meaning through storytelling.


Accompanying McCaughey’s poetry is illustrations by Dan Buck that showcases an incredible collaborative piece of work as each to their own separates the poems, almost to give the reader time to digest what’s been read.


The Southside of Doubt, allows the reader to take each poem and incorporate their own understanding. It’s an excellent first piece of work to publish as a collection as there’s great composition and rhythm that is utterly stunning.


Words by Danielle Holian


INTERVIEW


Tell us a bit about your writing background.


From a very young age I wanted to be an actress. I loved devising my own work - writing and creating. Often by putting myself in the position of a character and writing from their experience. I got to combine these skills a lot in my drama lessons at school. I won the Chris Evans 500 words competition when I was twelve, which brought a lot of attention that I wasn’t thrilled about at the confusing age that I was. When all you want is to fit in and not make a fuss, I felt quite embarrassed and largely like my actress dreams no longer were taken seriously. I stopped writing in a big way until my later teens. And over my three years at university, I witnessed the performance poetry scene firsthand and felt very called to it. It was the perfect medium of control and artistic license. I performed at slams throughout Bristol and reached the final in Lyra Fest 2019. I used writing over that time as a coping mechanism that began to sculpt this collection.


What, or who, inspired you to start writing?


I think it could be a number of things; a need to dissect, understand and validate my thoughts, reading Jaqueline Wilson books as a child... being an emo teenager. My understanding of what poetry could be was really altered when I was introduced to John Cooper Clarke in sixth form.


And what influenced your debut poetry collection ‘The Southside of Doubt?


Living in a world that looked a lot different; a lot more unjust and cruel and frankly nonsensical than I’d been brought up to believe it was. I was dealing with severe anxiety and depression. I felt like there was no way out of what was ultimately - a joke of an existence. I was living in a big party city, having brilliant relationships and friendships. As well as relationships that ultimately ended in trauma and feelings of betrayal. It was hard to tell what parts of my experience were limited to my perspective and were just “in my head” and how much of it was actually just awful. So the place where nothing makes sense and everyone talks in lies, that is quite literally built with the bones of those who came before was born.


You included illustrations by Dan Buck - why was it important to incorporate art along with your poetry?


I wanted it to have a story book style. I liked the idea of someone reading it all in one sitting even though poetry books don’t necessarily have that structure to them. And from early on I decided I wanted four big illustrations to be able to represent the narrative of each chapter. They’re clues to the bigger concept, and reminders of where the reader is. I also think they help fictionalise it and make it more fantasy-like than gloomy. I wanted it to look and feel like an old fairytale as so much of the book is reflective of growing up. It meant I had to really think in detail about this place and how it looked and felt and what the people looked like, to be able to construct it with another person. I can’t take too much credit for the illustrations themselves as that’s all down to Dan who is the most excellent and hard working creative that I know.


How do you find the balance between writing about your own personal experiences and exploring topics that may not necessarily be autobiographical, but still speak to many people?


The spread of information and news is so fast and so widespread that it isn’t hard to be confronted with the harsh truths of other people’s lives. People like you, people less privileged than you, people having the exact same experience and feeling just as alone as you. When exploring sensitive topics, or topics that I feel I'm attempting to relay a specific point of view or message about; I find that being able to use satire, character and fiction has a way of giving someone the answers without preaching it to them. At least I hope so!


What makes a piece of your writing right to post on your Instagram, versus the ones that stay in the book?


A few pieces from the book had been on Instagram previously in their very early forms. I’m more likely to post something that is maybe a first or second draft on Instagram. Or just pages from my working notebooks, which at the moment I often don’t know if they’ll go any further but I’m just intrigued to share. It’s more about the process than the product. Innately the formatting on Instagram is suited to smaller pieces, so there’s that. Whereas the book as with any book is subject to months of editing and re-writes and scrutiny. Instagram is more spontaneous for me. If I post something to Instagram it’s often not dead, as poems develop they’re often beyond recognition.


And finally, what advice would you give to aspiring writers?


Write your book! Post your writing! Don’t waste anymore of your precious time worried about the thoughts of those who could never have your bravery.

52 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page