top of page
  • Writer's pictureDanielle Holian

Book Feature: Rose Colleen ‘Ghostly Blues’


BOOK REVIEW


Rose Colleen has a story to tell over the course of the delicately beautiful poetry she penned in Ghostly Blues. She explores hard hitting and emotive themes of spending her childhood in and out of foster homes, her young adult life searching for a love to fill a void within her, and looking for a deeper meaning while healing herself.


As the book progresses, it’s clear she used her artistic talents to voice the unbearable truth while building a better future for herself. Her awareness and acceptance shows her strength when she realises ghosts seem to appear when life starts to make improvement.


With pieces discussing her struggles and hindsight, the poems where it’s clear she’s in a better place with experience beyond her control, her determination to overcome these difficulties made this book a worthy read.


Comparing her healing journey when she relapses to an addict, the rawness of feeling she misplaced her worth and lost her voice and hiding in-between subtle truths and icing to what’s over while fearing the embracing change and feeling lifeless, it’s overall a resonating poetry book for those who need to feel less alone.


As the book is just under a 50-page poem read, the lessons learned and bridges burned to get to where she is today is astonishing. With tear jerking storytelling, her never ending journey of growing and letting go of past ghosts was truly a thought provoking and gut punching read from beginning to end.


Rose Colleen spent her childhood in and out of foster homes, and spent her young adult life searching for a love to fill a void within her. Poetry and art were her forms of escaping her reality and finding her true voice. Nestled away in her small cozy apartment in downtown Morgantown, WV, Rose Colleen spends her free time sipping on a cup of coffee, being artsy with her two children, and getting lost in the night sky.


The next step to take towards building a better future is never an easy road to travel. No matter your age or upbringing. Ghosts always seem to appear when life starts to make improvement, and especially on the bad days. How we take these ghosts in and settle their voices is the determining outcome of our destination. Come and follow Rose Colleen on her never-ending journey of growing and letting go of past ghosts.


Words by Danielle Holian


INTERVIEW


Tell us a bit about your writing background.


I was about 14 when I took an interest in writing plays. I was a Romeo and Juliet fanatic, and the play I wanted to write was heavily inspired by that, and the movie ‘Interview with The Vampire’. Around 15 or 16 I tried my hand at poetry. I was a little rusty but it didn't stop me from trying. From age 16 up to now I have written in, roughly, 30 journals. I decided that poetry, aside from art, was a good way to let out my traumas and experiences. So, I pushed myself to write about anything and everything. A few years ago, I joined the poetry community on Instagram to gather more knowledge and inspiration.


What, or who, influenced you to start writing?


There were and are so many moments and people in my life that influenced my writing. Mostly, I discovered it was less harmful, and a more gratifying way to release the weights I carried, and the traumas that I have endured. I never started writing with the thought of publishing or even being noticed. It was always my escape as well as my adventure.


And what influenced your poetry book ‘Ghostly Blues'?


'Ghostly Blues' is the second poetry book to a trilogy. Not only inspired by a trilogy but also inspired by the poetry community. In this book I spread my wings a little more and open my writing to more than just melancholy. (Which is the style of writing I am best at and known for.) I also try my hand at shorter writings because I am very much a lengthy writer.


How has your life in general influenced your work in general?


As many poets do, I write about my losses, heartbreaks, tragedies and self loathing. So many things happen to us all daily, good and bad. I always figured that if I could at least put those thoughts and experience to paper for others to connect with then I would. I always, and still do, find it relieving to know that my mind isn’t alone. That's what I go through, many others do too. Needless to say, my influence is connected.


How do you find the balance between writing about your own personal experiences and exploring topics that may not necessarily be autobiographical, but still speak to many people?


Honestly, this is a tough one to explain. I try to place myself in the shoes of others when I write, and I try my best to express how I would feel if it were me. Though, I tend to speak from my personal experiences and try writing in such a way that my readers can relate my writing to any struggle they may be facing. Maybe then, that glimmer of hope will ring clear. Personally, I believe that is what makes a writer, but it comes with time. Like most anything else.


What makes a piece of your writing right to post on your Instagram, versus the ones that stay in the book?


Truly, it is what I am feeling that day or what flows with a certain photo I am using.


And finally, what advice would you give to aspiring writers?


TAKE YOUR TIME! Do not rush the words. Do not force yourself to meet certain deadlines. Live and be within your writing. Look up words in the dictionary and play around. Join in on poetry prompts. I promise they are fun and a good learning experience. TAKE BREAKS! If you find yourself stressed and anxious, know that it is okay to step away. Only you can allow yourself to be pushed so far. You do not want your poetry to be anything further from your truth. Meaning, do not let others force your hand to write about things or in ways that do not sit well with you. Try not to force certain emotions and ways of being to get a few lines/words out. Your mental health and safety matter more than a poem that may only be popular for a day. REMEMBER why you started writing. NEVER let your ego get the best of you. You may be a good writer but, we all have our styles and ways. Maybe, some are better at getting their emotions out grammatically. Maybe, some write shorter while others lengthier. All in all, we are all writers with much to say. Poetry is exactly that. Emotion in all its uncensored and incredibly messy glory.

77 views0 comments
bottom of page