top of page
  • Writer's pictureDanielle Holian

Book Feature: Shannon O’Connor ‘Five More Minutes’


BOOK REVIEW


Described as a cliche collection of poetry about falling in love with a friend and breaking your own heart written by Shannon O’Connor, Five More Minutes, is a whirlwind read full of powerful emotions that truly bring this particular story to life.


Five More Minutes, will reach into the depths of the reader's soul. The heartfelt storytelling etchings on the reader's mind pulling on their heartstrings perfectly finding words to the emotions that are on each page. As it’s a short read of 60-pages, the sentiment is visible telling the story about falling in love with somebody who doesn’t feel the same; the love, the pain, and aches realising the situation isn’t mutual.


From writing about falling for someone she shouldn’t have, to baring her soul, having her guard down feeling safe with them, to realising she was in love with this person, Five More Minutes, it’s an embraceful read with some parts daunting once they hit the reader in the feels.


The writing is penned so raw and unfiltered, it reads as if it’s the writer’s diary exposing the depths of her emotions. This collection of poetry is expressful with intimate storytelling and musing with excellent flow when reading. There’s a comfort when reading about the loving parts, but once the heartbreak moments arise the anxieties and fears are present written in a perfect manner that will resonate with many.


The writer captures this story in such a meaningful way from the heart fluttering moments to the painstaking ones that bring the emotions to life. Each page is a page turner almost like the reader is sitting down with the writer for a discussion.


Shannon O’Connor is a twenty something bisexual self published poet of 9 books and counting. She enjoys coffee, reading, traveling, spending time with her baby and taking photos. She just published her debut novel, Electric Love and is currently working on several short stories.


Words by Danielle Holian


INTERVIEW


You are the author of nine books and counting, tell us a bit about your writing background.


I did go to college for two years to study English before dropping out to travel. I’ve taken writing and editing classes locally in NYC as I’m always eager to learn more and develop my craft. Otherwise, I’m always writing and editing, looking to those who have been successful in the field and seeing what I can do to get there myself.


What, or who, influenced you to start writing?


I honestly don’t remember a time when I wasn’t writing, even when I wanted to be a fashion designer or an artist, I always wrote short stories and things like that. About three and a half years ago I went through a pretty dark time, experienced a heartbreak, among other things and I wrote to heal myself. When I was done I felt it was something I wanted to share, so I self published my first poetry book, For Always, and shortly after, Holding on to Nothing.


How has your life in general influenced your work in general?


I wouldn't have as much success in writing (or so many books) if I didn’t date such toxic people. That sounds like a joke, but honestly I often chose the wrong people to date, be friends with and a lot of them were learning experiences. Through each of those experiences I wrote, changed and wrote some more. I’m also born and raised in New York City so my writing heavily mentions landmarks, and takes place in NYC. I’m a single mother, much like the main character in Electric Love. I feel like you ‘write what you know’ and myself is often reflected in my writing.


And how was the transition from writing poetry books to your debut novel, Electric Love?


It was hard. I had done more novel writing before I ever started poetry and I thought it would be easy to get back to that but I was wrong. I started writing Electric Love, about a year and a half before I even decided to publish it. I thought I would keep it to myself but it was encouraged by friends and family of mine to share it, and I’m glad I did. I still find it difficult some days when writing as I switch back and forth from poetry and novel writing but I’ve also had people comment they enjoyed the way the novel was written because of the imagery I described that I think my time with poetry has helped.


How do you find the balance between writing about your own personal experiences and exploring topics that may not necessarily be autobiographical, but still speak to many people?


Being completely honest, I don’t. More often than not I’m writing autobiographically or at least about something close to what has happened to me. I try to challenge myself to write things out of my comfort zone; such as writing happier poems about love in my collection, All of Me. I do often put personal parts of myself in everything I write. Little items, certain words or names, things that only the person I’m writing about would catch. I think that’s why my work can speak to many people; I'm always honest in my writing and you can feel exactly how I do when you read it.


What makes a piece of your writing right to post on your Instagram, versus the ones that stay in the book?


This is something I struggle with often. I am usually a mood poster, having a few poems saved and ready to go when I want them but then writing a poem last minute about how I feel and deciding to change it. That’s why my feed often doesn’t have a theme, I use my Instagram as a place to give myself a voice, to say the things that are often too hard to say out loud. So sometimes they make it in a book later on or sometimes they stay on Instagram.


And finally, what advice would you give to aspiring writers?


Keep writing and write for yourself. It can be easy to get wrapped up in writing to get Instagram likes or get a book deal, but I’ve seen more success from those who keep writing for themselves.


12 views0 comments
bottom of page