top of page
  • Writer's pictureDanielle Holian

Album Review - Sasha Sloan ‘Only Child’


American singer-songwriter Sasha Sloan has released her long-awaited debut album, Only Child. She discusses alienation, body dysmorphia, loneliness, loss, all while showcasing her wisdom and strength in healing. It’s a powerful debut release from the songstress over the 10-tracks that proudly stand-out in their own right.


‘Matters to You’ finds the songstress singing over the strumming guitar, which makes this track a perfect opening song. Although it appears a blend of cynicism and hope, she sings, “But you make me feel / Like I'm someone, you do / 'Cause I know I'm someone to you / Make me feel / Like I matter, you do / 'Cause I know I mattеr to you,” in a delicate tone that is enchanting.


The title-track, finds the songstress fantasising about having siblings for a little company as she does get lonely. It’s a endearing song with beautiful lyrics, she sings, “People would say we look like each other / Got the same brown eyes as our mother / Someone who's been there before / Caught sneakin' in the same backdoor / Going back home would be a lot better / When our parents fight, we'd just smile / It gets lonely being an only child.”


‘House With No Mirrors’ discusses the vulnerability around body image issues along with self-acceptance that makes it another powerful addition to the album. She questions, “I wonder what I'd be like / Maybe I'd sleep a little better at night / Yeah, I wonder what I'd be like / If I lived in a house with no mirrors,” that many will sadly relate to, but feel less alone.


‘Lie’ is an upbeat track detailing issues is a fractured relationship that is only held by their attraction, being in denial about facing a breakup. She sings, “I want you to lie, lie right to my face / Want you to put your hands on my waist / Can we just dance 'til the skies are white? / 'Cause I really can't get my heartbroken tonight.”


‘Hypochondriac’ discusses her struggles with mental health and gratitude to her partner, over a breezy and gentle folk guitar. She sings, “Now I call my doctor every day / Since I met you something in me's changed / Second that you called me yours / I had something worth living for / Now I'm scared of planes and heart attacks / If I die I'll never get you back / You made me a hypochondriac.”


‘Is It Just Me’ is a hard-hitting, but much needed track that discusses the current state of affairs around the world with excellently penned lyrics along with a beautifully produced instrumental.


‘Santa’s Real’ finds the songstress longing her youthful days wishing for better times. The innocent storytelling is outstanding, she sings, “I wanna live in a world / Where peoplе don't get hurt / And everybody's got еnough money / Where nobody ever gets sick / Or has to skip a meal / I wanna live in a world where Santa's real.”


‘Someone You Hate’ has a razor-sharp relatable vibe to it regarding her distance to get a perspective about brutally falling out of love. The lyrics are heart-wrenching, she sings, “I went from / Someone you held, you held when you were lonely / Someone you called, you called your one and only / I threw it all away / I went from someone you love / To somеone you hate.”


‘Until It Happens to You’ is a tear jerking addition to the album in a beautiful manner. When she sings, “somebody loses their somebody every day,” it really pulls on the listeners heartstrings as she discusses loss in a tragic, yet a surreal way that makes this a relatable track.


Closing out the album with ‘High School Me’, the songstress revisits her youth with some wisdom, in a letter to her younger self, emphasising if only she could “see me now.”


The songstress really dived deep into her emotional well-being and past traumas to create, Only Child, that represents different parts of her - from being a jaded romantic to struggling to find herself. It’s easy listening with hard-hitting topics that she fearlessly discusses. Full of relatable stories, the storytelling is poetic with vivid imagery. Proudly, this record is emotionally mature and sentimental, exhibiting an evolution for the songstress.


The album is an acoustic indie-pop record with effortless and toneful vocals. Sasha Sloan's songwriting glory over the 10-tracks is a masterful addition to her discography. Only Child, follows her three previous extended-plays, Sad Girl, Loser, and Self Portrait.


Words by Danielle Holian


20 views0 comments
bottom of page