top of page
  • Writer's pictureDanielle Holian

EP Review: FLETCHER 'The S(EX) Tapes'

Updated: Sep 25, 2020


FLETCHER bares all on her brand-new seven-track extended-play, The S(EX) Tapes. She’s vulnerable revealing emotive details in her pop-driven songs that don’t find her shying away from who she is as an artist.


‘Silence’ is an excellent opening track as the songstress displays a moody intensity. She sings on the chorus, “What I need is silence / All I need is time and space and silence / Cut communication 'cause I'm trying / To learn that I can lose you and survive it / What I need is,” over an infectious beat that will immediately make the listener groove to the sad lyrics. The production is moody with emotive lyrics that shows she’s grieving herself through her creativity.


Following this, ‘If I Hated You’ will immediately resonate with those who have experienced heartbreak. From being crippled with an aching heart, to struggling to let go, the songstress perfectly penned this track to perfection. As she reflects on how it would be easy to hate her ex, on the rhythmically chorus she sings, “My bedtime is the darkest / That’s when I’m brokenhearted / The nighttime is hardest / It’d be easy if I hated you.”


‘Bitter’ is the only feature on the EP, collaborating with Kito. The track is a seductive and moody track with relatable storytelling that is smooth yet drenched in pain. It’s a catchy song that showcases a sweetness in her vocals over an infectious production that includes an anthemic outlet. The lyrics are truly heart-wrenching, she sings, “I know I said it's kinda stupid / But it's just the way I'm feeling right now / And I hate that I can tell / That someone's probably in my shoes by now / Right now.”


Next up is, ‘The One’ which is a danceable, radio-friendly track that has an emotionally captivating and impressive sound when she sings, “You’re not the one / But could be the one right now.” This song will make the listener simultaneously heartbroken and sexually frustrated in the best way possible.


‘Shh...Don’t Say It’ has a funky and slinky mid-tempo production. There’s a sexual tension with the bassline and her sensual vocal delivery, when she opens the track singing, “You dream of me, dressed in white / I dream of you, dressed up in nothin' / I like you, you're my type / Let's make out, but I'll make it clear, not lookin' for something.”


‘Feel’ showcases delicate vocals with an upbeat production that makes this ballad a stand-out track on the record itself. The lyrics are powerful and heart-wrenching, especially during the chorus when she beautifully sings, “So I'll drink this wine / Like it's medicine for the mind / Onto my tongue / Oh, 'cause I still taste your love / All in my bones / Head to my toes / Doing time tryna heal / Do anything so I don't feel you.”


Closing out the EP with ‘Sex (With My Ex)’ with a beautifully diverse track compared to the rest of the record, it’s an excellent addition to the project as a whole. Thinking seeing an ex would be harmless, she confesses, “I just had sex with my ex in a New York apartment (Ah) / Now I'm a mess, I'm obsessed / I'm right back where I started, broken-hearted.” It brilliantly sums up the story she wanted to convey throughout the seven-tracks.


It’s clear to see this project was inspired by a break-up. Nothing appears to be left unsaid. Delivering brutally honest lyricism throughout the EP, it makes this a memorable listen with her unfiltered sense of self that makes her stand out as a singer-songwriter. It’s a strengthful release with a lot of fireful productions, brooding storytelling, and seductive vocal delivery.


No artist is doing what FLETCHER is doing right now. She’s in a league of her own. And completely standing-out as a rising star at this particular moment in time. This complete project is a raw account of something she wanted to be open about. As an insanely talented songstress, she has created a great addition to her discography.


The S(EX) Tapes is a break-up record with a twist of anthemic beats to sad songs as a whole. Overall, it’s cohesive and beautifully written over the seven-tracks that round up just over 21 minutes.


The S(EX) Tapes, follows FLETCHER’s previous EP’s Finding Fletcher (2016), and You Ruined New York for Me (2019).


Words by Danielle Holian


26 views0 comments
bottom of page