top of page
  • Writer's pictureDanielle Holian

Music Feature: Yann Sella


The first thing that led Yann Sella into music creation was the first notes he produced on his laptop, he notes, “Just drawing some patterns and hearing the final result made me realise that this is what I would do in my life.” This made him question what direction he should take knowing it’s all still a work in progress.


As well as being an artist, he’s a music producer, he notes, “The process of creation is what makes me produce each time I open my laptop.” The overall thrill from seeing nothing to a piece of music is a feeling he says he cannot live without.


From growing up in France, he notes, “France has always been a hot spot in music. There are French artists that crossed the boundaries,” looking up to them as they stayed true to themselves, while experimenting and elevating the game. “I guess it played a role in the way I see things, how I evolve in this universe.”


Moving on to discuss that he grew up with rap music, especially US hip-hop with artists like 50 Cent, Eminem, Lil Wayne, or Sniper (french rap band), even noting Daft Punk as his biggest inspiration. It was much later when he discovered electronic music, especially EDM first then underground of artists like Tale of Us, John Hopkins, Rone, and Cassius. Rounding up all sides of his musical influences, he notes he is a fan of movie scores, inspired by the master Hans Zimmer.


With his new single ‘Fire & Gold’ on the horizon in collaboration with singer-songwriter Jenny, he notes, “This track is the result of some experiments, it's a picture in itself. I wanted to create something that would be organic, evolving, in order to let the mind escape, making the listener fall into his own dreams. I tried to combine music genres that I love.”


‘Fire & Gold’ will drop on June 25th, 2021 via BEATPORT EXCLUSIVE and then with a full release to follow on July 9th, 2021.


Yann Sella is heavily involved with the production side of his music, noting although he enjoys the creative process he’s not a good writer - and that’s where singer-songwriters come in, going on to mention he’s lucky to work with Subdust who let him express himself freely. He tells, “So basically I produce the track, then we find someone to write and sing, there comes Jenny [Fire & Gold]. Her voice matches the picture I had in mind perfectly. I helped her with the topline, but we made sure she was free to write as she wished, as long as it suited the track.”


The constant evolution of things makes him want to go further in his musical journey, he expresses, “We live in a society that keeps pushing the limits of creation, I want to be a part of that. I get a kick out of music creation, it’s a need I feel sometimes unfillable, but it always keeps me aware,” when asked what drives him forward as an artist.


As the global pandemic of COVID-19 has affected a lot of things over the last year and a half, when asked how this time has helped his creative juices, Yann Sella responses, “It’s really strange how this pandemic raised differences in people’s habits. As far as I am concerned, it didn’t help me, at first. I really felt the heaviness of this strange atmosphere pouring on my shoulders. It was a strange feeling to go through, but as we adapted, I started producing back. It made me refocus on myself, why I produced, and the goals I wanted to achieve it. I kinda found peace with myself. This pandemic finally made me accept myself as a producer.”


If you’re new to Yann Sella’s music, he says the best way to describe his artistry to someone coming across his music for the first time is that, “I try to make music as a filmmaker would think of his movie. Each track has a story to tell, a place to go. I hope people live an experience, as they go through my music.”


Closing out the interview, Yann Sella concludes, “I’m currently working on something completely different from this track,” when asked about what fans can expect in the near future from him.


Words by Danielle Holian


5 views0 comments
bottom of page